How to Deal with Acne

I won’t beat around the bush – I have gone off the pill and switched to an IUD. AKA I have made the choice to deal with pubescent acne again. Boy did I forget what this was like! Luckily, this time around I am much more prepared and have ditched those harsh Oxy products.

My acne never went away completely, but it has been very manageable for the past 7 years, so I focused mostly on improving my skins texture and redness. Now, I have to consider the huge red mountain range on my chin as well as the volcano that appeared overnight on my cheek. I’m not going to lie, this has really pulled the plug on my self esteem, but I am here to tell you that I am walking towards the light and have discovered a couple of products that have VASTLY improved my facial landscape.

Good GenesThe Hero Product:

My savior, Sunday Riley’s Good Genes. I have mentioned this serum before and my small sample is still going strong. I have tried other lactic acid treatments and nothing compares to this. It smooth’s my skin out and the effect lasts long after I have washed it off. I wish I didn’t love this product so much because of the price, but if this acne drama continues, I will be taking the plunge and ordering a full size. Who am I?! If the price tag puts you off, I suggest finding a sample (Sephora has an offer at the time of posting), and using it when you need your skin to look it’s best, like a first date; new job, might run into an ex situation, etc.

Clay masks:

I have been in love with Origins Clear Improvement for years now, but I also adore the Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque, which is significantly cheaper. Recently, after countless ITG recommendations and my best friend shouting its praises to the moon, I ordered the Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay. I was very surprised to find out this was a powder and used way too much the first time. The results are amazing at a great price point. I can’t wait to try this mixed with apple cider vinegar as suggested, because of course I didn’t follow the rules the first time. All of these masks do a fab job of drawing out the gunk that’s built up in my skin and using them 1-2 times a week has really helped to maintain clearer skin.

The new kid of the block:

I am finally taking Caroline Hirons advice and adding an acid into my routine. I got the Pixi Glow Tonic everyone and their mother rave about. And you know what? I am so happy on this bandwagon. It smells wonderfully herb-y, tricking you into thinking you aren’t putting a powerful face melting liquid onto your skin (that’s what all acid is, right?). When I use this alone at night, I wake up a lot less red with smooth skin in tact.

The next product I want to try for spot treatments is the Mario Badescu Drying Lotion. I hope you get some use out of these suggestions, and let me know if you’d like a morning/night routine for dry, acne prone skin. If you too are struggling on the acne bus, I feel your pain. Let’s get through this journey one pimple at a time, and at least try to have fun with new products while we’re at it!

Leave a Reply

